Evaluation Question 6

WHAT HAVE YOU LEARNT ABOUT TECHNOLOGIES THROUGH THE PROCESS OF CONSTRUCTING THIS PRODUCT?

I used a DSLR camera for all my work in the course and I felt it was better than just a GoPro or camcorder as it both provided high quality footage and also taught me how to control aspects of film like the aperture and ISO when filming in manual shooting mode as demonstrated in my APERTURE TASK. I used a tripod to film the majority of my shots and a monopod for all the following shots,  this helped to make my film look professional and actually visible on screen

I have also learned how to use the editing software Adobe Premiere which allows editing to be done very visually in a non linear fashion allowing you to go back and alter any clip at any time. I greatly enjoyed the freedom of this software and the very visual and hands on element via dragging clips around to edit it. I feel that i have progressed greatly in using this software, being able to edit video and add sound in it. 

One of my first tasks:Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 10.38.21

Final opening:Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 11.12.10

I then used Magic Bullet Effects to color correct my final piece and make it look more professional, I have also used this software to make my footage look darker and also to add a ‘night vision’ effect to try and fit the action genre more closely and improve the overall presentation of my final opening.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 10.35.18

I also used adobe after effects for adding titles and for my ident. I Used a youtube tutorial to help create my ident and altered it slightly to suit my genre more – After effects was a useful program for me to learn to use efficiently and I now feel that after carrying out these exercises that my skills in this program have definitely developed as I can now easily navigate the program which I wasn’t previously able to do at the start of the course.

From adding titles to a scene to creating a 3D city i have progressed and enjoyed the versatility of this software.

I also used this software to great effect in my final opening, by editing it to make it seem that my 1 actor was actually 4 characters

For recording my work I have used WordPress to create my blog to document all of my work in chronological order, Survey monkey to create target audience surveys and Prezi to analyse the results. I have documented my filming on video sharing website, Vimeo, and used Facebook to advertise my survey to my peer group. WordPress has been especially useful as I could upload work in all formats to the site such as videos, hyperlinks, Screen grabs and images. I was able to embed my videos I had uploaded to Vimeo into my blog which made it easier for my teachers to access and improved the overall presentation. My knowledge of technologies from producing my opening has been greatly enhanced and I would be confident on editing programs and using a camera to film a high quality piece of media text and then be able to document it on the internet in the future.

Leave a comment